29th February

29 02 2008

Today is a ‘leap day”. An extra day in the year so our seasons don’t slip.

Fascinating things leap years. Did you know that 2000 was a leap year, but 2100 won’t be? If a year is divisible by 100, it is only a leap year if it is also divisible by 400.

And according to Wikipedia (not that you should believe everything you read on the internet!):

“In the Islamic calendar, leap months are not used. They are forbidden by the Qur’an,”

Anyway… I was thinking, maybe a leap day should be a Public Holiday? I mean if, we have this extra day in the year, why should we spend it working?  As far as I know, my salary hasn’t increased by an extra day this year. What am I doing at work?

Maybe I’ll sneak off early.

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 02 2008
SamR

I’m not getting paid for today either.

I’ll show them.

Not taking any notes today.

29 02 2008
turns

Neither. What a scam.

I’m doing some software training today anyway, so no chargeable hours for me anyway. Plus, they provide lunch!

29 02 2008
guthers

that’s a step in the right direction turns.

public holiday in 2012 though i say. I’ll have a chat to Kev

11 03 2008
Weekend Top 5 - la finale « le blog de guthers

[…] Maybe we should petition the government to introduce “National Siesta Hours”? I’ll make an enquiry when I ask about the Feb 29 Public Holiday. […]

Leave a Reply

