Public Transport

3 03 2008

This post is going to sound like a whinge.

And it probably is a whinge. So I apologise in advance. If you don’t want to hear it, stop reading now.
Firstly, the buses on Victoria Rd lately have been poo. Today, I waited for 20 mins and then 5 turned up at once. It’s nice to have options, but I can’t get to work any quicker on 5 buses than I can on 1.

Secondly, there has been a drop in public transport etiquette. Now, I am a guilty party – I like to stand in the no standing section of the bus where you have the most room – but there are three things I think should go without saying on public transport.

  1. Cover your mouth when you cough.
  2. If there is a seat available, and someone is standing, don’t hinder them from sitting down. Slide across to the window, move your bag, do what it takes.
  3. Finally, do NOT, remove your toe nail polish with nail polish remover in a hot, crowded, poorly ventilated bus. I almost needed to spew.

Sorry for the rant. These are the selfish things I think about on my way to work. Maybe I should be thinking more along the lines of this guy.

I’ll try to lift my game on the public transport system as well.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 03 2008
jpj

Hey guthers,
Nice to meet another commuter.
Good point on 2. I don’t understand why people don’t slide…
It takes more effort to get up, let in, sit down

Peace, Joel

4 03 2008
guthers

nice to meet you too joel!
thanks for stopping by

Leave a Reply

