Cracked Pepper Crackers

8 04 2008

You’ll have to forgive me some self indulgent ranting.

What’s the story with cracked pepper water crackers?!?

Why do they take a perfectly tasty (although unusually named) item like the water cracker and ruin it by adding cracked pepper??!?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for pepper. I have an admiration for the pepper mill and how it is so sanctified that as a restaurant diner you are not allowed to touch it. But I think pepper has no place in a water cracker.

Surely, the beauty of the cracker is its inobtrusiveness? If I am enjoying some nice cheese or, better still, some chunky basil and cashew dip, then why would I want my tastebuds affronted by an alien flavour? The cracker should be a simple tool for dip transportation and palate cleansing. Don’t try to dress it up and make it something it’s not.

Pepper has it’s place, but it ‘ain’t in my cracker.

Your thoughts? Are you for the cracked pepper cracker or against it?

(Shout out to Naomi and Hamish for this post)
Actions

Information

23 responses

8 04 2008
Adriana

Ha… They will be so happy you posted on this. Although I don’t think they will agree.

It does sometimes add a lovely subtle taste in a cracker, especially to cheese. But I don’t really like it on meals – if a waiter offers me some at a restaurant I would usually so no…

8 04 2008
SamR

What about bbq flavoured crackers? Are you against them?

8 04 2008
guthers

I think the BBQ flavoured cracker is something else entirely. I think they are trying to be more than just a cracker and more of a self-contained snack.
Ler me answer your question witha question: would you eat a cracked pepper cracker on its own, with no cheese dip or other accoutrements?

8 04 2008
hammm

finally… have been waiting for this post for a while..

let me answer your question simon..

just this past sunday night, there was a bowl of cracked pepper water crackers at church. and i indulged in eating a greta deal of them without any form of dip or accompaniment.

As in most cooking, both salt and pepper are used as seasonings to boost and enhance flavours. It is the same with cracked pepper water crackers.. while i also enjoy the humble plain water cracker, i like the subtle peppery undertones that tantalise my pallet as i eat my cheese, or say – chunky basil and cashew nut dip

8 04 2008
Libby

The cracked pepper cracker is almost always in my pantry – I ate some last night unaccompanied (although, I also like them with cheese, dip etc) and love the burst of fire-y pepper when you bite one.
Sambo – BBQ flavouring is revolting and shouldn’t be on anything!

8 04 2008
Thea

Nothing ruins a nice wedge of brie more than a cracked pepper water cracker! Pepper is evil in general and certainly should not be in my water cracker. So its a big no no from me on the pepper variety. Plain all the way!

Bbq rice crackers are entirely different, agreed Simon. They are a snack in themselves. Sorry Libby but they are fantastic with cheese spread! YUM!

8 04 2008
Naomi

Good to see you brought much needed attention to such an important issue.

cracked pepper water crackers are by far superior in comparison to ordinary water crackers. granted plain water crackers are a fine transport mechanism for dips and cheeses. The cracked pepper simply adds something extra special to the taste experience. The peppered crackers are also good at making not-so-tasty cheese tastier. Pepper is generally always good unless its that fine ground stuff or the pepper that comes in those little packets that tastes kinda like dirt.

I’m against the bbq flavoured ones though.

8 04 2008
Paul

Do you have anything against You’ll love Coles Cracked Pepper Water crackers? As the packet says “theres nothing better than cracked pepper on the humble water cracker, to finish a rather plain and uneventful week at work”
Gary, professional food taster

9 04 2008
mattt

We always have seaweed rice crackers in the pantry and rarely make the stretch to water crackers let alone the peppered kind but I’ve nothing against pepper on crackers. I do have something against pepper in my crack though. 🙂

I am all for chunky dips of any variety!

9 04 2008
guthers

I’m glad there has been such a hearty response. To summarise:
5 people for cracked pepper.
1 who is ambivalent – except to a peppery crack.
2 who are against it – myself included.
Sam didn’t appear to understand the question. So I will assume he is also against cracked pepper on crackers.

9 04 2008
hammm

sam.. please respond in kind..
help boost the movement that is pro-cracked pepper.

we told you it wouldnt of been a good topic.. such response

10 04 2008
SamR

Sam didn’t appear to understand the question. I just chose not to answer it.

I am against it however. But I am pro other flavours.

10 04 2008
guthers

woohoo! Sam is against it and I didn’t have to rely on putting words in his mouth!

5 for
3 against
1 non-plussed

come on anti-cracked-pepper-ers! where are you?

10 04 2008
hammm

nnooooooooooo saammmmm… thats a school-boy error.

10 04 2008
onlinesoph

I’m also against. They get stuck in my teeth. boo.

11 04 2008
Thea

YAY! Go anti cracked pepper cracker Russells! Who would have thought that a simple cracker would cause so much discussion…

11 04 2008
hammm

i would have thought.. told you you needed to post about them simon

11 04 2008
SamR

Wow guthers, 17 comments! Here’s another one to make it look big. I love this blog. Discussion about the issues.

11 04 2008
guthers

that’s why I’m here Sam… to tackle the BIG issues.

11 04 2008
onlinesoph

And we’re soaking it up brother. Love it.

11 04 2008
SamR

That was me. Oops. Autofill strikes again.

12 04 2008
reimer

The ‘today tonight’ of blogs.

Put me down as a ‘for’ the cracked pepper.

12 04 2008
hammm

thats the way reimer..
power to the people

Leave a Reply

