Reading

8 05 2008

I have been reading up a storm since I finished my exam. It’s nice to be able to read something because you want to read it rather then because you have to!

I have already mentioned that i just finished The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith. Apparently they are making this into a TV show. I am keen to read some more of these.

I am now on to two others:

The Seven Wonders of the Industrial World by Deborah Cadbury

The Christian’s Great Interest by William Guthrie.

William Guthrie was a 15th Century Puritan minister in Scotland. Someone at church lent me the book because they thought I might be interested. If his name is anything to go by, it’s bound to be a ripper!

There are a couple of other books on my reading ‘wishlist’ at the moment too, so I will have to make the most of my time before the next exam!

Actions

Information

10 responses

8 05 2008
turns

I’m currently reading Al Sterarts book on midlife crises. It’s pretty good actually. I wonder if it’s possible to have a quarterlife crisis, because most of the stuff he’s talking about in his book I am too easily relating to.

The way I see it, why wait until you’re 50 before you realise your job was meaningless? Better to figure that out early and do something about it – the problem is what to do…

8 05 2008
Libby

I have read and own all of the Ladies No 1 Detective Agency and loved them. Not sure what the TV show will be like, but I’ll be interested!

8 05 2008
Libby

I like my pretty pattern thingy!

9 05 2008
hammm

i just wanted to see which pretty pattern i would get.

9 05 2008
guthers

the patterns are pretty aren’t they?

turns – I read that book too and also found it scarily relevant. I think it will definitely be one worth re-reading every few years.

libby – how many are there in the series?

9 05 2008
guthers

oh wow! I wasn’t logged in so I got a pretty pattern!

9 05 2008
Libby

I have 7 🙂 But the last one surprised me – I didn’t know it was out, so there could be an 8th?!

9 05 2008
Libby

Aack! Just looked at your link – there are 9! I had better get to the shops! Yay – 2 more to read. The 7 I have are all gold, he doesn’t run out.

9 05 2008
guthers

Fantastic! I will have to source the other ones. I think Mum has a few.
By the way libby – you were the 200th comment when you were talking about your pretty pattern – well done!

9 05 2008
Libby

Yay!

Leave a Reply

