Thursday Thought

2 04 2009

I think there are far more world views out there than I can possibly comprehend.

I met a guy a few weeks ago who began telling me about his views on life, the universe, death, spirituality and everything.

We had coffee the other day so we could keep chatting. I was surprised at how passionate he is about this worldview he has developed over the years. He is firm in his belief and is keen to teach me as much as he can so I can be aware of it too.

It got me thinking about being sensitive to what other people believe. Not in a “it doesn’t matter what you believe” kind of way. But more from the point of view of understanding how to approach people.

I think I sometimes fall into the trap of thinking that people are shallow. That they don’t understand my world view, the gospel,  because they don’t think deeply enough about these things.

But really, I think I don’t give these people enough credit. They are thinking far more deeply about things than I know.

Actions

Information

One response

8 04 2009
Dave K

Hey Guthers,
Sounds like it was an interesting time listening to his worldview.

I reckon with Christianity people presume and assume they know what Christianity is and therefore tune out when we try to explain it. But ‘Biblical’ Christianity is not always what people think it is and part of our job as Christians is to dispell popular myths. The classic example is ‘good people go to heaven’. This is still a worldview that people associate with Christianity which is just outrageous!
Everyone has a worldview (even the person who doesn’t care as the worldveiw that they don’t care) but not many know how to express it in a clear fashion. So people are not shallow – they think – but not many think through like Christians do on how to present their view to other people or even think how to be sensitive. In our sensitivity we do want to faithful and clear.
Dave

Leave a Reply

