The Local Taphouse – Sydney Version

16 04 2009

I’ve blogged before about the Local Taphouse coming from Melbourne to Sydney.

I also promised more info once I had been.

Well I’ve now been (last Thursday night – how good are long weekends?) and I can say it was AWESOME!

They have decorated the place really well. Similar style to the Melbourne Taphouse. Tram seats along the walls, small tables, plenty of wood and leather-bound books (classy).

But clearly, it’s all about the beer.

The range is exceptional, certainly more than you could get through in a few visits. The also do a feature brewery each month and focus on that brewerys offerings. This month it is Bridge Road Brewers down in Victoria. I had their Aussie Ale and their “Bling” IPA. Adri had the Hargreaves hill ESB – which is especially tasty.

The food ain’t bad either. Adri had the mussells (all self-respecting beer venues must sell mussells these days) and I had a simple, tasty and reasonably priced pizza.

The location is a little awkward, parking wasn’t particularly easy. But I will definitely be going back for another round.

Actions

Information

9 responses

16 04 2009
Nic

I visited the melbourne taphouse on our recent trip, and it didn’t disappoint. I note from their website that their featured brewery in June will be mountain goat. That definitely warrants a visit, even if the parking is hopeless.

16 04 2009
Turns

Ooh ooh – can I come too??!?

16 04 2009
hamm

and me???

16 04 2009
guthers

We can all go. Hamm can celebrate his new licence by driving us. Except won’t you be in Africa?

17 04 2009
Turns

I can celebrate my new lens by photocumenting (like my new word? It’s like documenting, but with photos…) the event.

17 04 2009
rockran

im declaring myself the winner cause my new work is one km from the real taphouse
yeah, i said real taphouse.. like the sydney one is a fake and is located in an inferior city. so yeah

17 04 2009
guthers

whatever…

you’re teaching in st kilda? don’t go drinking on your lunch break.

hey have you heard about the new little creatures Stimulus IPA which is apparently on tap at the Fitzroy dining hall?

17 04 2009
Nic

Hey Mr Cheese, who works so close to the ‘real taphouse’, maybe you should take your maths class down there for lunch with their rulers and do a project on exactly how much they are skimping on their “10 inch” pizzas. All I’m saying is that it’s a good thing I filled up on beer.

18 04 2009
hamm

yeh i will be in africa..
but im hoping to make a visit in may..
who wants in?

Leave a Reply

