Passions of a 50 year old man – Number 1

27 05 2009

I am a wee bit concerned that I might be ageing beyond my years.

I’m 25. Still young right? But I find myself increasingly engaging in activities that, once upon a time, I would have attributed to boring old people.

As my first example, shameful though it is to admit – I am a huge fan of ABC local radio.

Every morning, my alarm is set to wake me up to Adam Spencer (he’s still young and hip right?). And in the car, as long as I am driving, the station is 702 ABC.

Adri’s not a fan. She would rather be listening to something else. But I honestly can’t find a radio station that I consistently prefer. It used to be Nova, but now I find that boring and, more often than not, offensive. Occasionally, I will switch to Triple J, but I just can’t keep up with what the young people are listening to these days.

Perhaps the worst part of it is between 7-8pm weeknights. I LOVE listening to, and playing along with, “Norman” the quiz with Andrew Daddo. The 25 question quiz played by unusual people with not much better to do of a weeknight.

Don’t look at me like that! I know I have issues, but at least I’m man enough to admit them!

Should I be concerned? Am I too far along the road to senior citizenship? Am I alone? Or do others share in my love for the ABC?

Actions

Information

10 responses

27 05 2009
Michelle

As far as I’m concerned, that is completely acceptable behaviour.

Read: I am an avid ABC 702 listener (though I still refer to it at as 2BL, thank you very much).

27 05 2009
Libby

When I was still at work I used to love listening to Life Matters on Radio National in the car as I drove around. It was much better than any radio station between 9 and 11.

27 05 2009
guthers

Love your work. Making me feel more acceptable already!

27 05 2009
SamR

About two years ago (when I was 25 in fact) something just clicked and I became an ABC listener. I love it.
If they replaced Richard Glover with Angela Catterns then I reckon I could listen all the way from Adam, through AM to Deborah, then onto conversations, James Valentine, Drive (with Angela) on to PM and then Norman. But Glover is the let-down for the all day listen-a-thon…

27 05 2009
CHONG

I would say you’re olding out, but popular opinion so far would suggest otherwise…. Perhaps I’m just a young whipper-snapper of 29 years…

27 05 2009
davemiers

rowena is a big abc fan.
i find the station irritating.
but sometimes i choose to listen to vega… that’s almost as bad!!

28 05 2009
guthers

@SamR – what’s wrong with Richard Glover? I don’t mind a bit of “Self-improvement Wednesday” and even the odd bit of “Cryptic Crooning”. Although the latter is a bit cringe-worthy at times.

@davemiers – vega? Haven’t tried it, but it does seem like an oldies station. What irritates you about the ABC?

28 05 2009
davemiers

in the words of elvis: “a little less conversation a little more action.”

action = music.

28 05 2009
reimer

What will you be listening to in another 25 years!?!

For me, if it’s AM, yes it is ABC702.
But my other station is FBI, love it!

1 06 2009
Ben McLaughlin

embrace it, bro.

Leave a Reply

