Passions of a 50 year old man – Number 3

29 05 2009

Apart from playing a Saturday morning round of golf and then coming home to slippers and a nanna rug to listen to the ABC, there is one other passion of mine that I feel would be better suited to a man more advanced in years.

I love to do the Sydney Morning Herald Cryptic Crossword.

The only other people I know who love this are:

  • My Dad (>60 years)
  • My Uncle (>50 years)
  • My late Grandfather

It’s especially good on a Friday when a guy called David Astle puts them together. He has a particularly cryptic mind and his crosswords are renowned as the toughest.

Does anyone else (preferably under 50) share this passion? Or am I 5-across, 9 letters, G-E-R-I-A-T-R-I-C?

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 06 2009
Emma

I’m under 25 and I love the smh cryptic crosswords!
Although I’ll admit I struggle with the Friday DA ones. The Thursday ones are usually okay though. Perhaps it’s genetic – my Dad does the crossword daily. Or maybe it’s actuaries liking puzzles!

3 06 2009
guthers

Welcome Emma – glad I’m not alone!
(Is this Emma H by any chance?)

3 06 2009
Emma

Yep that’s me.
I came across your blog by chance when I was googling about actuaries. Didn’t even realise it was you until I saw your picture 😛 But we won’t start talking about the probability of that lol.

3 06 2009
guthers

Haha – well welcome! Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

